Personal Development – 1001 Books to Read Before you Die

For a change, I thought I’d write here a self-improvement project I’ve embarked on. I’ve joined a group in Goodreads called 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die. It’s a free group – anyone can join. Currently, there are 10,828 members. So why did I join? Well, I felt like I was stuck in a rut with my reading habits and I wanted some direction. I also wanted to read what is considered to be novels etc in the literary canon. And so I discovered this group! I’ve read about 55 so far – and I’m not counting the books I’ve read years ago … where is the fun in that? I reread The Lord of the Rings every 4 or 5 years anyway. 🙂 I’ve discovered some great authors that I’d have never picked up (VS Naipaul is one) and some authors/titles that I’ve heard of and just needed that push to follow through. My favourites so have have been ‘Diary of a Nobody’ by George Grosssmith, ‘The Unfortunate Traveller’ by Thomas Nash, ‘Cold Comfort Farm’ by Stella Gibbons, and ‘Cranford’ by Elizabeth Gaskell. View the list here.

Want to add your thoughts? Fire away!

