One book, two book, three book, four… and five!

I’m following on from Jo the Librarian’s book meme. Care to join me? Add yours to the comments box for this post!

1. The book I’m currently reading… is Marquez’s 100 Years of Solitude. This is the first novel I’ve read that has been described as being magical realism. I’m in the middle of this novel and I am entranced! I wasn’t so keen on the war parts which dragged on a little for me.

 

2. The last book I finished… was Nevil Shute’s A Town Like Alice. It is aheart warming story written in honour of a Dutch lady who had been one of the group of women forced to walk around Sumatra when the country was captured by the Japanese in WWII. There is sadness and joy, and very enjoyable descriptions of outback life in post-war Australia. Shute is a great storyteller and many who have reviewed this book on Goodreads have said it is unputdownable. It is!!

3. The next book I want to read… is Necropolis: London and its Dead by Catharine Arnold. The Guardian book reviewer Jad Adams reviewed it and although he says there are some  issues with incorrect information and some lack of referencing, it still sounds like a fascinating read. I will take Adams’ comments on board though and if there is something really interesting, I will use my magic librarian skillz to check it out before I spout on about it.

4. The last book I bought … well, I bought six in one go! There was a special on at the local Book Grocer – how could I resist?? The last one I picked though was a VS Naipaul novel In a Free State. I read A Bend in the River by Naipaul last year and I loved it. It is set in the Congo and it has turned me to reading stories set in the African continent.  I also recently read The Posionwood Bible and it was an interesting contrast.

5. The last book I was given… which I haven’t read yet is VS Naipaul’s A House for Mr Biswas. Can you tell I’m a fan of Naipaul? I discovered Naipaul by participating in the 1001 Books to Read before you Die challenge on Goodreads, which I wrote about in a previous post.  I’m looking forward to it!

One response to “One book, two book, three book, four… and five!

  1. Yay, glad you liked the meme! I thought it was fun 🙂

Want to add your thoughts? Fire away!

